Computer starts then shut down in 5 seconds.

Rakeangle

Reputable
May 9, 2015
Hello, first of all excuse my bad english as it is not my first language.

I have a small system i recently built for gaming.

It was doing fine until one day i took the cpu out to clean it and re-apply thermal paste, because my cpu was at 50C idle, which i find way too high.

After i installed back the cpu and water cooler my pc never booted again.

When i hit the power button the fans start spinning, my both gtx 970 acx cooler start spinning too, the motherboard leds are on, i have no beeping sound, liquid cooler and fans, everything seems pretty normal but it will not boot and turn off after 5 seconds and repeat the same sequence.

I tried another PSU that i have,but nothing chaged so it is not that. I also cleared the CMOS, replaced battery i tried all i can imagine but it will not boot.

This is my first build by the way if anyone could help me i would appreciate it.

Case: Rosewill Legacy U3.

MB: Gigabyte Z97MX-Gaming 5.

CPU: Intel Pentium G3258 @ 4.7Ghz.

GPU: Evga Gtx 970 FTW 2 way SLI.

Ram: Corsair Vengance 8gb.

Storage: Toshiba 500gb HDD.

PSU: Corsair AX 750.

Cpu cooler: Cooler Master Nepton 120XL.

Rakeangle

Reputable
May 9, 2015
Hi Tradesman1, thank you for reading and answering.

I thought of that too, so i even took the cpu out again to clean it everywhere, i also tried to clean the socket and i even checked if there were any bent pins but nothing....

Rakeangle

Reputable
May 9, 2015
Yes i took every part out and installed again, checked every connector, every cable everything is fine.

Dram is firmly installed as well, i even checked every slot with just 1 to mAke sure they arent faulty( even though the computer was working fine with them).

What i find strange is that even when i take both RAM sticks out and i try to boot, i dont get any Beep; shouldnt i get one when i have no sticks installed?

Thank you for the answers,

Rakeangle

Reputable
May 9, 2015