Question Computer Switches On then Off Repeatedly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blindmonkey

Reputable
Mar 8, 2016
Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could help me.

I have been running a custom build desktop for around 3 years solidly, I use it roughly 4-5 hours a day and mainly for watching videos online, some light gaming here and there and at one point used it to edit a film, but that was a one off.

The machine has been running fine; however, a couple of days ago I turned on the machine and the desktop would turn on and then after around a second turn off. It would then by itself turn on again after a few seconds, only to turn off again once more, and so on.

The builds as follows:
CPU
Intel - Core i7-4790K 4 GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler
CRYORIG - H7 49 CFM CPU Cooler
Motherboard
Asus - Z97-A ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Memory
Kingston - HyperX Fury White 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR3-1866 Memory
Storage
Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Storage
Crucial - BX200 240 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Video Card
Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 960 4 GB Video Card
Case
Fractal Design - Define R4 ATX Mid Tower Case
Power
EVGA Supernova 550 W Gs Gold 80+ Modular Power Supply Unit

I have a ASUS VC239H 23 Inch Monitor, FHD (1920 x 1080), IPS, Frameless, Flicker Free, Low Blue Light, TUV Certified monitor and a standard USB mouse and USB keyboard, nothing fancy. Also I have a wifi USB receiver and a bluetooth receiver plugged via USB for a separate keyboard and mouse combo.

I have been in contact with EVGA, the PSU manufactures, and they have offered for me to send back the PSU to check the thing and if needs be repair it. I was just thinking I may be jumping the gun?

Checking online there are potentially many reasons, but in your collective experience would you suspect it is a PSU issue or is there usually another culprit? Additionally, is there any way to test which component it may be?