Computer Wont turn on even after new motherboard

Dec 9, 2014
Hi, I am a fairly new apprentice here who has built a computer about 8 months ago. The computer booted and everything was fine. It was a gaming rig with fairly expesive high grade parts. about 2 months ago, i started browsing the internet trying to study for my Physics exam when suddenly my computer shut off and started smelling like electric smoke. The computer wont turn on AT ALL. No lights no fan, nothin... My Brother and I concluded that the motherboard got fried cause the smell came directly from it. the Power supply was fine and ill explain in a bit why,. so we sent an RMA from Asus which took about a month and half. took a LONG time for a new MB to arrive. Finally came, and me and my brother switched the cpu and GPU and ram to the new motherboard (etc.). Then we plugged it in and pressed the power button and nothing happened,. The motherboard however did have a green standby button lit up so we knew that the MB was recieving power from the PSU but the thing wont power up. Could it be that something is interfering with the connection of the motherboard thats causing it to short? whenever i press the power button of the case the lights upstairs flicker. (this was normal cause the power supply is 750W and has done this before). however even after the lights flicker the PC wont turn on. Power is definetly reaching the motherboard but it wont turn on the fans or anything,. could the RAM be the culprit.? i tried using one stick and that still didnt work.

PC SPECS":
CPU: AMD fx 8350 8 core 4.0 GHz
GPU: SAPPHIRE r9 280x 3gb gddr5
MEMORY: Vulcan 16 GB (2x8GB) 1600MHz
CASE: Phantex Enthoo luxe
PSU: EVGA 850 W G2 Gold certified

hyper 212 evo

MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0

PS: the motherboard fried was the sabertooth. the brand new motherboard is the same model of sabertooth. (Same motherboard.) I havent tried breadboarding it yet, but just want an explaination ASAP.

PLEASE help me :D

Solution