[SOLVED] Confused on RAM

Jul 21, 2022
I am trying to upgrade the RAM in my Lenovo IdeaCentre B520. I am getting mixed advice. Crucial.com recommends
Crucial 4GB DDR3L-1600 SODIMM
  • CT51264BF160B
  • Configuration ID: CT2294436
DDR3-1600 • CL=11 • NON-ECC • SODIMM • 204-pin • 1.35V • 2Rx8 • PC3-12800

Lenovo sent me a manual stating the i3-2120 CPU has DDR3 memory controller (up to 1333MHz). 1333Mhz is 10600, not PC3-12800.
Lenovo tech support chat with a real person tells me PC3-12800 is a waste of money as the i3 won't support it.

Lenovo tells me to look for PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3, non-parity,, dual-channel capable, four 204-pin SO-DIMM sockets. The manual says the same.
I want good brand name RAM. Where should I look? Where would you shop?

Solution
D
Are these brand name like Kingston or Samsung? I want the good stuff without paying too much. I need something reliable. I do not recognize these names, but I am a novice.

The bottom link is Silicon Power and they are fine. 16gb for that price is a pretty decent deal tbh. I see you are new around here so to put you at ease I have been on this forum since 2010 and I own 5 PC shops in the USA that pump out around 3000+ repairs a year, This ram will be fine.
Jul 21, 2022
Are these brand name like Kingston or Samsung? I want the good stuff without paying too much. I need something reliable. I do not recognize these names, but I am a novice.

D

Deleted member 362816

The bottom link is Silicon Power and they are fine. 16gb for that price is a pretty decent deal tbh. I see you are new around here so to put you at ease I have been on this forum since 2010 and I own 5 PC shops in the USA that pump out around 3000+ repairs a year, This ram will be fine.

Reactions: gunnerstunna
Solution
D

Deleted member 362816

Thank you so much. Should I avoid A-Tech? It seems to be B stock type stuff from other manufacturers...