Confused on which Gaming memory is best for 1066 Board. Please help!

afm813

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2008
Hello all,

Below are different Memory Type tables I pulled from the FAQ. And the Motherboard I'm getting indicates that it runs DDR2 1066 (which appears to be Rambus in the list below). However, the memory suggested for gaming by newegg.com seems to be DDR2-400 or DDR2-667. Are the latter memories compatible with the DDR2 1066 MB I want to get? If they are, which is better, the 400s, the 667s, or the 1066s? I could not find clarification in the FAQ and need help. Lehman's terms please as I'm still learning the technical jargon.

Thanks,
Dan

DDR2
DDR2-400 = PC2-3200 (200MHz @ CL=3, tRCD=3, tRP=3)
DDR2-533 = PC2-4200 (266MHz @ CL=4, tRCD=4, tRP=4)
DDR2-667 = PC2-5300 (333MHz @ CL=5, tRCD=5, tRP=5 OR 4-4-4)
DDR2-800 = PC2-6400 (400MHz @ CL=6, tRCD=6, tRP=6, OR 5-5-5)

RAMBUS
PC-800 (400MHz)
PC-1066 (533MHz)

*Non Standard Specification (not officially supported)

ZootyGray

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2008
We need to know what mobo. Why are you getting a mobo if you don't know anything about it. I hear you are learning - but there are a zillion questions about everything - and you are talking about getting.

It's easier if you are researching or doing research or planning.

"the Motherboard I'm getting indicates that it runs DDR2 1066 "
That means (probably) that the motherboard (mobo) will support "DDR2 1066". It might also support DDR2xxx = same type, different speeds. But same type = "DDR2" = double data rate 2 (version 2) whatever

The 1066 in your table above is VERY different type
"PC-1066" not same as "DDR2-1066"
"PC-1066" - RAMBUS - you really don't want to get into Rambus ram - intel tried that a long time ago - long story and $$$$

You want ddr2. Faster is higher numbers. So ddr2889 os faster than ddr2 400 for example.