[SOLVED] Connecting 2 separate wifi routers to one computer?

May 6, 2021
I have a specific situation that could be solved if this is possible.

I am a musician and for livestreams on stage I use multiple phone cameras as webcams (with an app called IVcam). They all connect to the laptop via the venue's wifi.
The Venue's internet is good enough for livestreaming, but not good enough to stream the phone cameras in realtime to the laptop. I get loads of artifacts and latency issues, before it gets to the internet.

My idea is to have a separate router that I connect to the laptop via LAN, and the phone can connect to that, and then use the laptop's wifi to connect to the venue's internet.

Is there any way this can be done? or is it impossible to have 2 seperate wifi routers to connect to one pc? I really hope there is a solution, because the only other option I can think of is to connect the phones with usb cable, and that would be so messy and limit where I could put the phones.

Thanks in advance!

Solution
Thank you for your reply bill001g. Sounds complicated but doable. I will look into trying it out and see if its too much of a hassle or not.
If I did assign manual IP addresses to all my phones, would those be permanent or is it something that I will have to do every time?

I think DHCP sounds easier.

But the phones needs to find the Laptop IP and you probably need to have routing and NAT running in the Laptop depending on whats needed. And it probably would be easier to let the Laptop do the DHCP (through "Internetsharing"?). The AP is a bridge device so it might not matter what IP/LAN config the AP is running. But make it part of your LAN anyway.

The second LAN (provided by you/the AP/Laptop) needs to have the Laptop as the...
In your case it is pretty simple it is a much harder problem if you want it actually connected to 2 different networks that are both on the internet.

There are still some details that can be frustrating to setup.