[SOLVED] Connection lost when I plug in a 2nd LAN cable in the router (but then, the 2nd connection works fine)

PlanK69

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2014
Hi. So I've been an IT tech for 3 years but I'm currently experiencing something that I've never seen before.

Here's a diagram of my setup at home: View: https://imgur.com/pddDYBg

Here's a 3min video that I recorded of the problem:
View: https://youtu.be/DKmVTxh2KJk

My ISP's 'dish' (NanoBeam 5AC Gen2) is on my roof and a LAN cable runs from there into the ISP's microfilter, and then a short LAN goes from there into my router. My router serves as the DHCP but it does so automatically (meaning I could factory reset my router, and I'd still have internet as the ISP's 'dish' (NanoBeam 5AC Gen2) actually does all the difficult stuff.. anyways, I then have a LAN cable running from my router into my PC, and another LAN cable running into another router in another part of my home, and THAT router has multiple mobile devices connected to it as well as a wired connection to my Xbox. All wifi connected devices on both routers have no problem at all.

So, here's the problem that literally started today (It had been running 100% fine this way for over 4months, with both routers having multiple devices connected to them and not having any problems of conflicts). My PC now gets disconnected as soon as I try to connect to my router with a LAN cable, yet the other router still works fine... BUT, if I plug the other router's LAN cable out then my PC's connection works 100% again. And then as soon as I plug the LAN cable to the other router in again, then my PC gets disconnected and the other router works again.