Consider e.g. Scullclamp / Auriok Glaivemaster

sullivan

Distinguished
May 9, 2004
8
0
18,510
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I still have some difficulties with applying the CompRules
to equipment. The following question is a good example for that:

If you equip (e.g.) an Auriok Glaivemaster with a Skullclamp,
it should become a 3/1 creature. But what is the correct way
to show this (using the CompRules)?

Is it OK to argue in the following way:

- Scullclamp's "Equipped creature gets +1/-1" is a static ability
generating a continuous effect.
- Auriok Glaivemaster's "As long as ~ is equipped, it gets +1/+1 ..."
is a static ability which generates a continuous effect, too.
- Now CompRules 418.4a applies.

(Or is Scullclamp's ability a triggered ability which should be
read as "*When* ~ equips a creature, that creature get +1/-1"
and the actual text is just a short form for this; like "Equip 1"
is a short form for the activated ability "1:...")

???

Thanks in advance for your help!



The cards:

Skullclamp
(Artifact - Equipment | 1 | Colorless)
Equipped creature gets +1/-1.
When equipped creature is put into a graveyard, draw two cards.
Equip {1}

Auriok Glaivemaster
(Creature - Human Soldier | 1/1 | W (1) | White)
As long as Auriok Glaivemaster is equipped, it gets +1/+1
and has first strike.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Sullivan <sullivan@phreaker.net> wrote:

> I still have some difficulties with applying the CompRules
> to equipment. The following question is a good example for that:
>
> If you equip (e.g.) an Auriok Glaivemaster with a Skullclamp,
> it should become a 3/1 creature. But what is the correct way
> to show this (using the CompRules)?
>
> Is it OK to argue in the following way:
>
> - Scullclamp's "Equipped creature gets +1/-1" is a static ability
> generating a continuous effect.

Yes, just like Coils of the Medusa's "Enchanted creature gets +1/-1."

> - Auriok Glaivemaster's "As long as ~ is equipped, it gets +1/+1 ..."
> is a static ability which generates a continuous effect, too.
> - Now CompRules 418.4a applies.

Yes.

> (Or is Scullclamp's ability a triggered ability which should be
> read as "*When* ~ equips a creature, that creature get +1/-1"
> and the actual text is just a short form for this; like "Equip 1"
> is a short form for the activated ability "1:...")

No. Skullclamp has a continuous ability, a triggered ability, and an
activated ability. Rule 502.33 makes "Equip {1}" a shorthand for an
activated ability, but there is no rule mucking with any reference to an
"equipped creature" or an "enchanted creature".

212.2j The creature an Equipment is attached to is called the "equipped
creature." The Equipment is attached to, or "equips," that creature.

212.4h The permanent or player a local enchantment is attached to is
called enchanted. The enchantment "enchants" or, in more casual terms,
"is attached to" that permanent.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Wed, 07 Jul 2004 13:17:40 +0200, Sullivan <sullivan@phreaker.net> wrote:
>I still have some difficulties with applying the CompRules
>to equipment. The following question is a good example for that:
>
> If you equip (e.g.) an Auriok Glaivemaster with a Skullclamp,
> it should become a 3/1 creature. But what is the correct way
> to show this (using the CompRules)?

It will get +1/-1 from the Skullclamp' continuous effect, and +1/+1 and first
strike from its own continuous effect. Neither depends on the other (a
continuous effect with an "As long as Foo, <effect>" wording doesn't -depend-
on Foo, it's just "effect" that's either 'on' or 'off'). So you apply them
in timestamp order; normally that means the +1/+1 applies first. However,
SINCE state-based effects are never ever ever checked in the middle of
applying all continuous effects? It doesn't _matter_ what order they are
applied in - the Bladewarden gets a +total+ of +2/+0, making it 3/1. It
is not "momentarily a 0-toughness creature" at _any_ stage of the application,
regardless of the continuous-effect ordering. It's a 1/1 with +2/+0 = 3/1.

>Is it OK to argue in the following way:
>
> - Scullclamp's "Equipped creature gets +1/-1" is a static ability
> generating a continuous effect.
> - Auriok Glaivemaster's "As long as ~ is equipped, it gets +1/+1 ..."
> is a static ability which generates a continuous effect, too.
> - Now CompRules 418.4a applies.

Yes, although you -might- mean 418.5a there, the one that lays out how the
"layers" of continuous effects work.

>(Or is Scullclamp's ability a triggered ability which should be
>read as "*When* ~ equips a creature, that creature get +1/-1"

No. If it were it would say so (and would be worded "Whenever ~ becomes
attached to a creature, that creature gets..."). It's a static ability, with
a continuous effect affecting the equipped creature.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.