cooler for i5 8600K ?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Fred Old

Reputable
Mar 4, 2017
I was thinking the Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO, but I'm worried it won't be enough. First time Gaming build and this is the last component. I originally though of using NZXT Kraken X62, but people said it was overkill.

I have never done any overclocking before but with the 8600K I think I'll try a little OC.
I'd prefer an overkill cooler to one that only just cuts it.

Full build:
CPU: Intel i5-8600K
Motherboard: Asus Prime Z370-A
RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 3200 PC4-25600 16GB 2x8GB CL16
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB GDDR5X
Storage: Crucial MX500 SSD 250GB SATA + Seagate BarraCuda 3.5" 2TB SATA3
PSU: EVGA Supernova G3 750W 80 Plus Gold Modular
Case: NZXT H500i USB 3.1 Black
CPU Cooler: ?????

Solution
I honestly can't tell you. At the end of the day, it comes down to the question of how much more you'd be getting out of investing in better cooling. Sorry if I missed this, but what resolution/refresh rate will you be gaming at? The benefits of OC'ing are most strongly felt in high refresh-rate scenarios, but in certain cases, you might actually be GPU-bound.

Here's my breakdown of it:

If you want a very reliable/affordable Air Cooler that can handle a moderate/reasonable OC to the 8600k, then go for the Phanteks unit.

If you want a sleek, powerful-looking cooler that will enable you to push your CPU to its limits, grab the h100i. I would avoid the X62, it's simply not of good value.

Fred Old

Reputable
Mar 4, 2017

Do you think the phanteks ph tc12dx will handle 8600K overclocked? Otherwise I may have to switch to AIOs, such as the Kraken M22, do you think that would be enough? How can I see how much cooling power a cpu needs when overclocked, that way I don't have to keep asking you.