Question Cooler help required!

Jan 18, 2022
Hi,

I need some recommendations on which cooler to go with for my first build. I'm relatively new to PC builds and this is giving me the biggest headache (along with cases).

My first choice is a Be Quiet Dark Rock 4 but my main concern is whether it will fit the board and be clear of the RAM and GPU. According to their website compatibility may be an issue but it doesn't state what that may be, I'm guessing RAM clearance because I think they make a bracket to accomodate the board.

MB: Gigabyte Z690 UD DDR4
CPU: Intel i5-12600K
RAM: Corsair 2x 16 Vengeance RGB Pro SL
GPU: Gigabyte Aorus Master 3070Ti

Does anyone know if the Dark Rock 4 is a viable option, if not what coolers will cover my needs? I think the Dark Rock 4 Pro is suitable but that seems a bit overkill? One other option I'm interested in is a top down cooler but I haven't found any that are suitable.

Case problem will likely be decided once I've chosen a cooler.

Any help appreciated.

logainofhades

Titan
The Dark Rock 4 is a good cooler I wouldn't go with less than that. I don't think you will fit 4 memory modules with either of those coolers, probably doesn't matter for your two sticks because typically you would populate slots 2 and 4 first, but something to be aware of. Details on clearance:

https://www.bequiet.com/en/insidebequiet/26#:~:text=Due to its small format,page under "Technical data".

Looking at the DR4 pictured, at most the fan might have to be slid up a bit.

ImageServer.php

The ram they picked isn't exactly tall.

1905e495-9ef3-4acf-b6f1-aaf6887e19f1.jpg

Jan 18, 2022
I wouldn't say overkill, at all, and the ram should fit, as it is fairly low profile. Some of the builds, on PCPP, might enlighten you on some case options.

https://pcpartpicker.com/builds/by_part/FRYLrH