Cooling Adice for my New Rig

Canon624

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2008
Just got my new computer and I'm looking to cool it down. I didn't build it myself, I ordered the parts and they built it. I got a GTX260, 600W PSU, ASUS P5K-VM mobo, 6BG of 800 MHz, and a Q9450 - stock cooling - and this case : Enlight 7250AKG Black 0.8mm Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case. The idle temps on this are a bit high (maybe? I'm new to this so please tell) for my liking as I plan to OC it from its original 2.6 to 3.0 (this is the first time I will have EVER oc'd my cpu). Its not a big OC but I like it :). Note : I did add one intake fan on the side vent of the case and add one exhaust fan to the back. I also have my GTX260 fan on %100 all the time. Current Vcore is 1.13V.

These are my idle temps :

system @ 35c,
core0 @ 34c,
core1 @ 16c,
core2 @ 29c,
core3 @ 34c.

Water cooling isn't an option right now so does anyone have suggestions for adding cooling? Extra case fans? Better CPU cooler?

EDIT : SpeedFan says my cpu is at 9c? Are the 4 cores separate from the cpu or what? I don't understand. Should I be more concerned with my core temps or the cpu temp?

Check here for good reviews on coolers
http://www.frostytech.com/top5heatsinks.cfm
don't forget thermal paste
Depending on the placement of that side fan you may not have room and have to move it. Check your measurements.
Each system/CPU/Cooler/room temp. is going to be different, you just have to raise your OC by small increments and check temps. With what you have so far with a new cooler i'd say that 3.0 will be a breeze.

Canon624

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2008
The side fan shouldn't be a problem cause it mounts into a plastic case that shrouds the air right onto the cpu cooler. If worst comes to worst i can just mount it somewhere else and remove the piece of plastic casing. Thanks for the help everyone!