Cooling Mining Rigs with Liquid Chiller

Mar 15, 2018
Hi All,

I am new in water cooling, I have set a normal water cooling loop for 5 GPUs and here what I have used;

1. 5x Gigabyte 1080 Ti Waterforce WB Xtreme Edition 11G
2. 1x Thermaltake RL480 Radiator
3. 4x Arctic F12 PWM Fan
4. 1x Thermaltake PR22-D5 300ml Pump/Reservoir Combo
5. XSPC fittings
6. Clear Vinyl Tubing 3/8ID X 1/2OD

The setup was as follow;

Pump/Reservoir >>> 5 GPUs (Connected in serial) >>> Rad (with 4 fans attached)

I have used normal distilled water
The ambient temperature was around 20C (dropped by A/C)

The setup worked fine but the GPUs temperature was around 60+C (the lowest) to 70+C (the highest)

It was winter but in summer the outside temperature will go up to 50C, all temps will rise few degrees and thus I will run into overheat.

However, all pipes seems to be stressed and I didn't like that.

and, I wanted to overclock and add more GPUs.

So, I upgraded the water loop and now I am running the following;

1. Added another Rad (in serial)
2. Replace the 4 fans with stronger ones (old 74cfm/fan, new 250cfm/fan)
3. Added circulating chiller/pump (17L/m at 2.9psi) (in serial)

The new setup is;

Chiller >>> GPUs >> Pump/Reservoir >> Rads

So the theory here, The Chiller will chill the water to 18C and will cutoff till it rises to 25C, the water will go to the GPU and will reach the radiator at very hot temp and low pressure, the pump before the rad will make sure the water get more pressure to pass through the radiators and back to the chiller and nearly room temp max, so the chiller will make sure it is between 18C to 25C, and so on.

This worked very well so I added another GPU (making total 6) and now GPUs temps are 47 50 54 56 62 67.

I run into a problem where reservoir build up air so I have to open the cap from time to time to have the air out, as soon as I open the cap the reservoir refills so I have no chance to add water if I should, any one knows why ?