Question Cooling the 7980xe(delid) NH-D15 VS Custom Loop

Mar 2, 2019
Hello TH,

I am a filmmaker and vfx artist, working on my first custom PC build. Several of the programs I utilize are multi-thread and core intensive. Things may get HOT!

The crossroads I now face... cooling the 7980xe(delid) with a custom liquid loop or cooling with a Noctua D15!

What are your experiences with this CPU/Temps and remedies?

Thanks in advance,
Emily66

Mar 2, 2019
Custom cooling will get your the best results if done properly, it almost always does. But the D15 should be ok at stock speeds as the D15 is rated for 165 watts.
Thanks for the reply, Richiestang_78. I see that you are using the NH-D15! What’s your experience with it? What kind of processing do you do with your rig? Would you recommend it for someone that will be using multi-core programs for vfx and video editing (Nuke, Houdini, Avid MC, and other rendering programs).

Thanks Again,
Emily66

Thanks for the reply, Richiestang_78. I see that you are using the NH-D15! What’s your experience with it? What kind of processing do you do with your rig? Would you recommend it for someone that will be using multi-core programs for vfx and video editing (Nuke, Houdini, Avid MC, and other rendering programs).

Thanks Again,
Emily66

Dont compare a 7980XE 700W monster with a 7700K. I strongly advise you to go with a decent liquid cooling (either 360mm AIO or at least 360mm space of radiator for a custom loop). For AIO avoid nzxt, i only had problems and there are hundreds of complaints on forums that they are really bad. My problems (for my x41,x51 and x61) were that neither could maintain full speed at 100%, my fans would speed up and speed down constantly in a 2 seconds interval. Imagine some fans going up and down from 500 rpm to 2500rpm in a 2 seconds interval all the time, that was really annoying and this was with all 3 of them.

Reactions: EMILY66
Mar 2, 2019
Dont compare a 7980XE 700W