[SOLVED] Could someone explain the difference between PCI and PCI-E?

Oxidane

Commendable
Apr 19, 2021
I have two PCI-E ports and two PCI ports. I heard that PCI-E ports are apparently significantly faster. Does this mean that using a PCI port will bottleneck my RAM.

I have one stick of 8GB 1600mhz RAM which is currently inserted into one of the PCI-E ports. I am thinking of buying an additional two sticks of 4 GB 1600mhz RAM, however, I only have one more PCI-E slots. Would using a PCI slot for my last piece of RAM bottleneck my memory?

Solution
Ok, so to clarify, can I use either PCI-E or PCI for my RAM and it wouldn't negatively impact my PC performance? Or does RAM connect to the motherboard via an entirely different type of connection? I apologize for me sounding stupid, I am very new to this kind of stuff.

Right now I have an ASUS H87M-PLUS motherboard (not in a complete computer) with an 8GB 1600mhz stick of RAM in one of the ports. I guess I'm not entirely sure which port I plugged it into.

With my motherboard, do you know if it is compatible to have the following exansions:
1 x 8GB 1600mhz
2 x 4GB 1600mhz
1 x Radeon RX 550
1 x (Some form of internal Wi-Fi adapter?)

Or would there not be enough room for all of these components? In particular, I think most...
You seem to be confused, RAM and PCIe / PCI use entirely different lanes and low level communication. Bottlenecking your PCIe slots will not affect your RAM in any way, RAM have their own dedicated link to the CPU. As for PCIe vs PCI, PCI is a relatively old interface that's not commonly used anymore, if you're buying a modern component like an NVME SSD, a GPU, or other PCIe device, it will most likely use your PCIe slots and not the PCI.

Oxidane

Commendable
Apr 19, 2021