Question Could this be a dying PSU?

ARCADDER

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2012
Hi, so I've been using this configuration for the past 11 years or so:

GTX 1080ti Strix -- Intel i74770K -- 16GB DDR3 RAM -- Maximus VI Gene Motherboard -- Corsair GS700 PSU.

I've had zero problems with this setup since I built this PC in 2012, up until this week, when I noticed that every game end up either crashing, freezing the entire PC but not the audio, or straight up shutting down the PC.

Just to name a few, HITMAN Absolution throws a "DXGI_Error_Device_Removed". Pathfinder WOTR, freezes the video but not the audio and I have to kill the game via Task Manager. Frtnte Battle Royale throws a "D3D device removed" error and LEGO Frnte just shuts down the PC and leaves it in a weird state in which it won't even boot the BIOS screen and the restart button doesn't do anything. And while I can turn it off by leaving the power button pressed, I have to unplug the power cable from the PSU, wait a few seconds, and only then the PC will reach BIOS and then post to Windows 11, otherwise it just stays in this black limbo.

These crashes can happen 1 minute in, or 1 hour in. It happens without rhyme or reason.

This is everything I've tried:
  1. I've reinstalled Nvidia's drivers with the solution I used for years: NVCleanstall with the minimum recommended modules.
  2. I've formatted the PC (I do this every 5 or 6 months anyway).
  3. I use a perpetual Windows Pro license that I got directly from Microsoft. Every time I reinstall, I use their latest image.
  4. I am not using any kind of overlay or extra software for peripherals.
  5. I am not overclocking any of my devices.
  6. BIOS is using its latest version.
  7. I have restored the BIOS to its factory defaults.
  8. I've combed every BIOS setting to check nothing is the correct one, not being overclocked or using any extra "performance/gaming" settings.