CPU at 100C underload yet PC always fine? Am I in trouble

Long Trinh

Honorable
Jul 6, 2013
Hi all,

After a change of GPU I decided to run some heat monitoring to see if everything was correct.

So the GPU has absolutely normal temp, but I realize something is off.

My CPU temperature underload, playing games such as Total War Warhammer, The Witcher 3 or Doom, would always be in the 95-100C.

This seems really off to me because I've been using this rig for 2 years (built myself) and it has always run very well with heavy load. I never had a blue screen of death or auto shutdown or anything. The only thing that happens is slower fps during large battles, but nothing else.

This is very strange because 100C for hours after hours would melt every CPU and motherboard, yet I mostly play these games for hours on end during the weekend.

Anyway I got a new CPU heatsink (I only use the thermal paste that comes with it). No changes at all to CPU temperature...

Idle is at 50C (BIOS reading), under load is 100C (CPU Z and MSI afterburner reading)

Is it actually a problem?

On one hand I feel like if the system has always run fine for 2 years no reason to fret out, but on the other hand...

Intel Core i5-4590 (3.3 GHz)
MSI H97M-G43
Geforce 1060

Thanks

"This is very strange because 100C for hours after hours would melt every CPU and motherboard" The worst that happens to the CPU is throttling and you can easily see it if it does if you monitor the CPU with Intel XTU. What is the new cooler? Is you case airflow good enough?

Long Trinh

Honorable
Jul 6, 2013
Ok so I run some stress test with Intel XTU like you suggested. The only throttling that occurs is thermal throttling, but it only appears a dozen times every 5min, and when it does, only for 1-2 sec. Is that bad? is that why my fps goes down during large battle?

Here is the new cooler I use. Very popular among gamers in paris here: