CPU bottlenecking GPU

Jul 7, 2018
so i've recently bought a nvidia geforce 1060 3gb GPU and with this i did not change my CPU which is an Intel i5 4670 3.40GHz

just some extra info i didn't overclock anything the only thing that i have running is MSI genie
i have already checked if my pc is getting enough power for my hardware and the answer is yes it is indeed getting enough power

now my problem is when i'm gaming (doesn't matter what game) my CPU is mostly at 100% usage while my GPU is only at like 40% usage i've asked around and some people told me that this shouldn't be the case but they have no solution for me, so that's why i am asking it here, i'm sorry if there is already a thread open about this but i'm fairly new to this page, i always used it for research but not posting

hopefully someone can help me out with this or atleast explain my why this is happening and if this is correct or not

Solution
Well I personally know nothing about Black Desert, not even heard of it. However, I have heard of GTA:V. Now the thing about Gta:V is its thread usage. According to minimum specs it needs a quad thread cpu. There's a reason for that as the game is brutal on at least 4 threads, but is really optimized for 8 thread usage. So Gta:V runs on a i5-7600k, but runs like crud due to upto 100% cpu usage. Even an older I7 3770k gets better fps, simply due to thread availability.

You have a 4th Gen i5. That's 4 threads. Knowing what Gta:V can do, it's entirely plausible with the increasing graphics settings that you are just swamping the cpu.
GPU is fine for 1080P/60 Hz refresh, and CPU, although not an i7, is likely still capable fo generating 60 FPS rates in most games...

An i5 or even an i7 stays at 100% busy in most titles these days, so you are not going to 'fix it'....

If frame rates seem acceptable...play it.

Jul 7, 2018