[SOLVED] Cpu Clocks and temperatures fluctuating

Kubsy

Prominent
Jun 7, 2020
Hello, I need your help!!!

So for a couple of days I noticed that my clocks are at max frequency and therefore my temperatures are fluctuating from 35 to 50/40 to 50 and I've never had it before!

I did try the power saving settings but didn't work.

Also bear in my that I am a pc noob

Cpu: Ryzen 5 2600

Solution
But that's at idle though with clocks and temperatures fluctuating. Is that normal?
Yes, that's what I'm referring to.

Also "idle" is very rarely what your CPU is doing. Ryzen also operates a boost from idle feature, whereby it constantly boosts a core out of sleep, where it then hits top frequencies and appears to have a large voltage and temp spike, then settles back, but this process repeats itself.

What you see is erratic sudden temp, frequency and voltage spikes when you're seemingly doing nothing or just opening up a new window.

The other thing with temperatures, is that they don't overly matter unless you exceed a temperature whereby it becomes unhealthy for the CPU. For this Ryzen, the max temp is 95 degrees, but...

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
I noticed that my clocks are at max frequency and therefore my temperatures are fluctuating from 35 to 50/40 to 50 and I've never had it before!
I'll be honest, there is nothing really wrong with this. fluctuating between 30/50 degrees on a Ryzen is fairly normal due to how it operates. Just as long as it's kept below 80 degrees overall. Ryzen does have what might appear to be somewhat erratic behaviour at low loads.

Kubsy

Prominent
Jun 7, 2020
I'll be honest, there is nothing really wrong with this. fluctuating between 30/50 degrees on a Ryzen is fairly normal due to how it operates. Just as long as it's kept below 80 degrees overall. Ryzen does have what might appear to be somewhat erratic behaviour at low loads.

But that's at idle though with clocks and temperatures fluctuating. Is that normal?

dimtodim

Reputable