[SOLVED] cpu cooler help

Nov 16, 2019
This is my first build. all i need is cpu cooler, however i know nothing of how to tell what size would fit in my case, let alone which one is good. not planning to overclock main use is gaming at 1080x1920p at high settings with occasional graphics stuff(Blender, unity ect).

below is my specs asside from the cooler and upgrades i don't have yet i'd like a recommendation for the cooler that doesn't involve liquid and got xtm50 thermal paste is it okay or should i go artic silver?
Motherboard:Azrock Z390 taichi ultimate
Processor: 8086k (lga 1151 socket)
Psu: cosair rm750
Case: Focus G
Ram: 2 8gb cosair sticks at 3000 speed
Storage: 860 evo 1tb
optical: Read/writable drive

Upgrades: 2x 860 evos, 2x 8gb sticks, gpu: 2070rtx

Last edited:
Solution
Your psu is a very good one, 750w is more than enough.
I hope you are not planning on sli which might indeed need more power.
SLI is not good for your gaming experience.
It is prone to stuttering, screen tearing, and non support in an increasing number of games.
I doubt we will see a single card in the future that needs more power than a Titan Z.

A couple more points:

If you want 32gb, buy a 2 x 16gb kit.
Intel is dual channel so there is no performance benefit from 4 sticks.
Past that, ram must be matched in a single kit or you will be exposed to incompatibilities.

Raid of any kind in a desktop is not a good idea.
First of all, there is added overhead of mirroring.
The value of raid-1 and it's variants like raid-5 is that you can...
A very nice build.
I like the case also, it has good air intake capability and 165mm room for a air cooler.

How good the cooler needs to be will be determined by how aggressive you plan on overclocking.
A good tower type cooler may well be all you need.
I like the noctua coolers, they are simple to mount, and come with some very good thermal paste.
You could do ok with the noctua NH-U12s with a 120mm fan,