[SOLVED] "CPU Fan Error!" On new pc build.

Jan 19, 2021
Hello everyone, upon booting up my pc which I have just built yesterday I get a message which states "CPU Fan Error" in all red. I connected my CPU fan into the correct port on the motherboard and my fan does work. Im using the stock fan which came with my CPU. The only time that my fan doesnt spin is when the PC is starting which I think is normal but this is my first build so I am unsure. I also pressed the fan into the board, it is not loose at all.
When using Core Temp 1.16 at idle my pc is apparently at about 50 degrees C tops and when downloading games it is apparently at 98-100 degrees C after about 5-10 minutes. When using speed fan to read my CPU temps however, my temperatures are much cooler at about 85 degrees C when gaming tops (it reads 15 degrees lower) which is probably more accurate since it doesnt seem like my PC is struggling.
Is there really anything to be concerned about? Im going to be applying new thermal paste to the fan tomorrow because I accidently touched a little bit when grabbing the fan out of the box (noob mistake) but would that even cause the error? I barely took any off.
My specs are:
Motherboard - MSI B460M
Ram - T Force Delta 16 GB DDR4
GPU - Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti
CPU - Intel i-5 10400 (with stock fan)
Power Supply - Corsair VS500w

Solution
Can't see lower right push pin of the cpu cooler. Rest of them seem to be in correct orientation.

It's possible cpu cooler had plastic film over thermal paste pad.
Did you check it? Film had to be removed before installing cpu cooler.

If there was no film, then you just have to press push pins harder into motherboard for them to make better contact.
Watch the video.

View: https://youtu.be/5qczGR4KMnY?t=65
When using Core Temp 1.16 at idle my pc is apparently at about 50 degrees C tops and when downloading games it is apparently at 98-100 degrees C after about 5-10 minutes.