[SOLVED] CPU fan port on MoBo erratic - does not work with certain fan when RAM is installed on board.

Apr 25, 2021
I’m a noob to this forum and to builds. I am attempting my first build and have endless questions, many of which I’ve been able to find answers for. Here is one of the ones I cannot find an answer to anywhere.
I have a MasterCooler Hyper 212 Evo CPU cooler and I’m using a Thermal Take Riing 12 fan (the stock one rattles and grinds like crazy).
When I have the fan plugged into the CPU fan port and there is no RAM installed it works fine. When The RAM is installed it turns on when the system powers up, but turns off immediately.
When it’s plugged into a system fan port it works fine.
When the crappy stock fan for the Hyper 12 Evo is plugged into the CPU fan port it runs fine (if you like very loud rasping noise).
I cannot have a system with no RAM and I’ve read that one should not use a system fan port for a cpu cooler fan.
I have not installed an OS because I felt like I should resolve this before proceeding.

My questions are:
Does anyone have any idea why the presence of RAM disables the CPU fan port?
Does anyone have a workaround that they’ve used or heard of for similar issues?

I really wanted to work on this tonight and get it loaded with its OS and software for tomorrow so I’m hoping the answer isn’t “get a new fan”. (Like I said, the fan works fine in the sys fan port and it’s as quiet as a pleasant thought.)
Thanks! Moving forward, I will endeavor to contribute any knowledge I might have that could help others and balance the cosmic ledger.

Parts:
MoBO- MSI z590 Gaming Edge Wifi
CPU- Intel i9 10850
GPU- Zotac Geforce GTX 1660
Fans- three Thermal Take Riing 12 (including the CPU fan) and the two that were stock with the case
RAM- four Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16 Gb ;3200

Solution