CPU fan running at full blast, even when the CPU is cool.

TheGuardianWolf

Reputable
Apr 11, 2014
This is my first build. I thought something unexpected might happen, but nothing like this...

I have an ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 motherboard, and a Athlon II X4 620 CPU, with the stock 3-pin CPU heatsink fan. The problem is that the CPU fan is constantly running at 100%, over 4k RPM and it's loud. It doesn't seem to matter what I do in BIOS or otherwise, I've tried messing with fan temp settings, and Quiet 'n' cool, but it's always going full blast. The CPU is only running between 20 and 30 degrees Celsius, and I've set the perimeters to run low when below 40, just to make sure I was well within the limit.

So I tried running a separate program to change fan speeds, but it also did nothing to the CPU fan, and additionally controls all 3 of my case fans at once with only one of the power settings. So I then tried connecting the CPU fan to the case fan slot, and it indeed was able to be manipulated that way, along with the other two case fans plugged in, so I don't think it's the fan or the wires.

My last resort was downloading the add-on tools provided by ASUS, but even that proved no luck. Note the right side of this screenshot. Even at supposedly 0 volts, it's running strong.

http://i.imgur.com/qGKQP72.png

From the information I've looked up, it seems like some motherboards can't control 3 pin fans? This doesn't make much sense to me, since the fan is obviously able to be controlled by voltage. I can even do so on this same motherboard by switching it to a 'case fan' slot and messing with the power level manually. But in the CPU fan slot it's always going 100%.

So I guess my first question is, do I need a 4-pin fan with this motherboard to have the fan running at different speeds? If not, what am I missing here? Did I do something wrong, or is there a problem with the motherboard? If there is a problem with the motherboard will a 4-pin fan fix it regardless?