• Now's your chance win big! Join our community and get entered to win a RTX 2060 GPU, plus more! Join here.

Pi Cast Episode 3 streams live on Tuesday, August 4th at 2:30 pm ET (7:30 PM BST). Watch live right here!

Catch Scharon on the Tom's Hardware Show live on Thursday, August 6th at 2:00 pm ET (7:00 PM BST). Click here!

Question CPU is stuck at base core clock on Lenovo L340 Gaming .

Jun 14, 2020
Hello.

I've got L340 15IRH with i5 9300h GTX 1650 8GB 512SSD. When I'm launching any game that's more CPU demanding clock drops to 2.4 Ghz after 5-10 seconds of playing and stays there. I noticed that when games started lagging in CPU demanding areas like Novigrad in Witcher 3 or Los Santos in GTA, I didn't change nvidia control panel/windows or in game settings for that to start happening. I don't think it's throttling problem because I've been using this laptop for over 3 months and never had this problem. Before that when CPU temperatures reached throttling point it would just drop to 3.5 -3.7 GHZ until it cooled off and got back to max turbo speed again, now it's stuck at constant 2.4. This doesn't occur while performing any tasks on the computer, browsing web, rendering videos in vegas (GPU accelerated or not) even at full CPU load doesn't affect the cpu speed, it only happens when launching any game.

When running CPU and GPU benchmarks my GPU was running constant 74 degress on 100% load with around 1800Mhz clock (Weird because it's rated at 1560 on boost) and CPU going everywhere from 75 to 90 degrees at constant 4000Mhz.

First I figured it might be due to thermal throttling or anything related to it, I installed MSI Afterburner to have live preview of my temps, usage and clock in game. I wasn't able to get a proper reading because my CPU never reached it's turbo clock and it's temperatues never exceeded 70 degress, while the graphics being at around 65-70.