[SOLVED] CPU/Motherboard troubleshoot

Apr 23, 2020
So I dunno if this is where to post but I have an issue I need insight on.

I have a new build, Ryzen 5 1600 AF w/stock cooler, b450 tomahawk (not max), 2x8 Gskill Ripjaws 3200 RAM, M.2 Crucial SSD for storage, 500w EVGA PSU, 1660ti GPU, no additional HDDs or storage or anything. All built in NZXT H500 case. This is my first build and I just put it together a few days ago. But not without some headache.

So a little backstory. When I first got everything put together and went for the moment of truth. It booted, but the LEDs on the motherboard were stuck on CPU, which according to this MOBO, means CPU fail basically. The PC stayed ON, and fans and lights would stay on, but no post. I tried a few things, and was leaning toward BIOS update (which it technically shouldn't have needed), but for some reason I worried that I messed up somehow when seating the CPU or the cooler. So basically, I removed the cooler and the CPU to see if I bent a pin or something dumb. Everything looked great, so I resigned to put it all back together and give it a try.

Got a post.

Went through checking the BIOS, installing Windows, getting everything up to date, installing drivers for GPU etc. PC worked great.

Then I decided to do some data transfer. We had an old HDD ( came out of an old desktop from like YEARS ago in 2008 ), a 320gb HDD, Hitachi brand I think? Anyway I wanted to see if our old family pictures and what not would transfer from the drive. With my PC off, I plugged in the sata data and power cables, booted up the PC... except it didn't boot. The lights and fans came on, got about halfway through the boot cycle, then turned off. I tried to boot it again, it did the same thing. Not wanting to risk anything, I unplugged the HDD and cables, tried to boot with just the original drive (the only one, the M.2) but got NO POWER. None. No lights, no fans, no attempt to boot.