CPU Overheating? Why...?

PC Drew02

Reputable
Feb 1, 2016
Hello! So, I build my PC about a year ago, and have had absolutley no complaints, until now. I shut down my computer for the night, and booted it back up the next day. It took a little longer than usual to boot up, but I wasn't concerned about it. I launched R6 Siege, and that took a little longer to boot up too. I started playing but noticed I have a massive FPS drop and it was incredibly hard to play.

On the lowest settings it wouldn't go above 30 fps, when I can run medium/high on about 60-80 fps normally. I figured maybe it was just cause my PC had just booted up. So, the next day I tried again and still noticed the FPS drop, so I decided to look into it. I hadn't recently installed (within a month or so) any new hardware or drivers so I was confused.

I downloaded HWMonitor to check CPU temps, and got pretty scared. My CPU was running at about 95 degrees celcius, on idle. So, first thought, I ran a malware check, for some threats, quarentined them, took care of it, and still its runing at about 85 degrees celcius. And its about 75% CPU usage on idle... This doesn't seem right to me.

It has crashed a couple times recently as well. What confuses me most is that it was like an "overnight" change, I have never had a problem like this at all. I looked in the case and my components were not dusty at all. I have 4 large fans running in this case, and have the stock CPU cooler on.

The inside of the case is almost cool (temperature wise) because of the airflow. I have not overclocked the CPU at all. Right now I feel like it has to be a malware. I recently installed some second hand hard drives over a month ago, but I'm not sure if that would cause a problem. What do you recommend for the next step? I would really like to fix this quickly and cheaply if possible. The CPU is an AMD Athlon 860k quad core. Thank you

[Wall of text edited to make it easier to read - - - Moderator]

Solution