CPU overloaded XP

philipo71

Honorable
Sep 4, 2013
I have a Sony Vaio about 7 years old. It's running XP sp 3 with a pentium M 1.73ghz processor. Over the last few weeks it has got slower and slower and now the cpu is always running high. I have run several mal/spyware programs but no problem. After some research i checked if it was a problem with offline files as i have noticed high usage in winlogon howeverit seems that xp has no offline function. I am now downloading process explorer as task manager does not open correctly. Any advice what my next step should be? I am by no means an expert so please go easy on me! I hope i can fix this soon as i need this for my job.

Solution

This can happen because your resources are exhausting your system memory you can always add more system memory...

This can happen because your resources are exhausting your system memory you can always add more system memory but the first step is to limit those resources being used.

Click Start, select run, type in msconfig and hit OK.
It opens the System Configuration Window, yours should be on Normal startup and even if it isn't select, Selective Startup.
Now click on the Startup Tab, Click on the Disable All, now scroll through the list and when you find your Anti-Virus application check the box next ti it only, then click Apply and then click OK.

If you get a restart warning click OK to what you did.

When the computer restarts it will tell you, you've changed the startup configuration, put a check in Do Not Run Configuration check Utility and click OK.

The only thing that will start automatically will be your AV application and a massive amount of resources will be cleared.

Now did that help your situation?

Solution

philipo71

Honorable
Sep 4, 2013