GabrielGeog

Commendable
Feb 23, 2019
Hi

I'm not a expert when it comes to PC hardware but I think I know the basics. Today I turned my pc on to find this error message "CPU overvoltage error - press F1 to go to setup", so I googled about it and I opened my pc, took off the cooler that's placed on my processor and cleaned it properly + removed/cleaned the old thermal paste (I think I applied it 5 months ago) and of course I replaced with new thermal paste after. Then, I put on the cooler again and the PC turned on normally. So far I've been using it for 2 hours constantly without any error or anything.

I didn't do any overclock and my BIOS is on its default settings except for Turbo Mode (which If I leave it on, my PC freezes sometimes and I really have no clue why this happens).

All PC drivers + BIOS drivers up to date.

Anyway, I guess this error was pretty random and I'm kinda worried about the situation. Should I really worry? Why this overvoltage error occurred? I'm afraid it will show up again... But I really hope not. Thank you for your attention and for your help.

MY PC Specs:

Windows 10 64bit
ASUSTek H61M-A/BR
16 GB RAM (2x8)
Intel Core i7-3770 3.40GHz, 3400 Mhz
GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

Solution
A number of things can be attributed to "CPU overvoltage error ". It can be a problem with your PSU (if the issue has just occurred out of the blue and where no overclocking has occurred ) It can even be a bad CMOS battery.

If the issue is the PSU then that is serious so check that first by swapping with a known working unit of the same or higher wattage and list your PSU for evaluation. You can also check your rail voltages with AIDA64 or hwinfo64.

Your CPU needs good reliable and efficient voltage. Too high or too low can damage your CPU.
First clear your CMOS then go into Bios and disable turbo mode to check see if there is a difference.