Question cpu steady 100c

Sep 30, 2020
Hi so im relatively new to PCs, but everywhere i read Cpu temps should idle around 40c and in game usually 65c? I've had my PC for about 2 years. Never once until this year i've decided to look up my stats : GPU CPU usage, temps, etc... i've first noticed my cpu usage really high around 90 percent despite the fact that my graphics settings are at high 1440p. Also my cpu temps stay steady at 98-100 during games or even downloading.

So i read on forums i could try reapplying thermal paste. As i took off my AIO i noticed there was thermal paste "overspilling" off my cpu and aslo around the little cpu lever thing, looked on the back of my AIO and theres buildup of thermal paste in the shape of my cpu. Apparently who every build my pc used too much. So i cleaned it, accidentally bent 2 cpu socket pins, bent them back slightly, reseated cpu, reapplied thermal paste (artic Mx-4), re installed the AIO, Booted up and in idle it sits at 86C now. Any thoughts?

Bought my PC from cyberPower
i7 9700k
Msi Mag z390 tomahawk mobo
corsair 3000mhz ram 16gb
nzxt kraken m22 AIO
rtx 2070
650 corsair 80 plus gold power supply

also have 6 case fans so i dont think its that?

dimtodim

Reputable
Hi so im relatively new to PCs, but everywhere i read Cpu temps should idle around 40c and in game usually 65c? I've had my PC for about 2 years. Never once until this year i've decided to look up my stats : GPU CPU usage, temps, etc... i've first noticed my cpu usage really high around 90 percent despite the fact that my graphics settings are at high 1440p. Also my cpu temps stay steady at 98-100 during games or even downloading.