Question CPU Temp on low 90s, but almost no CPU load

Sep 13, 2022
Hi all,

Hope you're all doing well, this is my first time posting here so bear with me as I try to explain my issue. Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this lol!

My wife wanted a small form factor PC for gaming so we built one on the InWin A1 Plus ITX case about two months ago, it started working just fine and temps have been stable hovering on the mid 40°C on idle, sometimes hitting 50°C when browsing or doing light work. When gaming, it would go up to almost 70°C. Being an ITX build, I thought they were normal and fine.

Fast forward to last week, she started noticing that temps were reaching the low 90s when playing games (League of Legends mostly, which I don't think is CPU-intensive), and it hovered around 80°C on idle. We were concerned so I bought a new thermal paste (Cooler Master's Mastergel Maker) and changed the one that came pre-applied on the cooler (NZXT Kraken M22). Right after this, temps went back down to 50°C on idle and around 65-70°C when gaming.
Today though, temps have been going up again, right now they sit at around 75°C on idle, and go up to almost 90°C while gaming.

I checked Task Manager and CPU load doesn't seem to be the issue as it is very low, so I restarted the PC and went into the BIOS to check the temp there and found that when idling on the BIOS, CPU temp would start on around 48°C and hover around 54°C, never going over that. Then I go to Windows and the temps went up to 80°C again, on idle.

At this point I'm not sure what to do, clearly, the AIO cooler seems to be working, there is no heavy CPU load (I even ran both Malwarebytes and CCleaner to see if there was any virus or malware but got nothing), all fans are on 100% speed, I took off the side panel to allow more air in hopes to keep the temps down. I also touched the hoses of the Kraken to see how warm they felt, one was warmer than the other, but both warm to the touch.

TL;DR: