[SOLVED] CPU Temperature fluctuations Ryzen 5

Bodvar

Reputable
Jan 1, 2017
So my PSU shat itself yesterday and took some components with it. Changed my MB, CPU, PSU and RAM, but switched from Intel to AMD. I now use a Ryzen 5 3600, with a cooler master Hyper 212. When opening Speccy, I noticed the temps fluctuate in a strange pattern, is this normal? When I stresst tested it to 100% usage, it flattens out more but still spikes sometimes. I took a screenshot of the temps, you can see the difference between normal and stress testing. I was just wondering that the spiking in temperature is normal for AMD, it's my first time having one.

jylhSZu.png

Solution
... When opening Speccy, I noticed the temps fluctuate in a strange pattern, is this normal? ...
Yes, perfectly normal. The processor frequently boosts to a high clock to process a background task (windows runs lots of those). Temp spikes with each one then ramps down afterwords until it boosts/spikes once again. So the sawtooth pattern. Each spike is the hottest sensor of dozens all over the CPU, so it's also not really a good indicator of the CPU thermal state.

Suggest to drop Speccy and get HWInfo64. It's much better set up for AMD motherboards and CPU's, and also reports out a die temp (average) that better relates the true thermal state of the CPU as a whole.
... When opening Speccy, I noticed the temps fluctuate in a strange pattern, is this normal? ...
Yes, perfectly normal. The processor frequently boosts to a high clock to process a background task (windows runs lots of those). Temp spikes with each one then ramps down afterwords until it boosts/spikes once again. So the sawtooth pattern. Each spike is the hottest sensor of dozens all over the CPU, so it's also not really a good indicator of the CPU thermal state.