CPU went from 50C to 95C in 2 seconds on Prime95

omonoiatis9

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2013
I'm not exaggerating. 2 seconds. I read threads saying you have to wait around 3, 5, 10, 15 minutes to see whether your CPU is fine, but mine literally went nuclear in 2 seconds. I knew it had overheating issues since it shut down on me while playing LoL (very lightweight game) a few times, but wtf.

My question is, how can it overheat so unbelievably fast that even regular stress testing is out of the question? Could it be just a thermal paste issue? I checked that the fan works normal (stock fan, and I've been using that same fan for the past 2-3 years with no issues). But can thermal paste really mean from 50 to 100 degrees in 2 seconds? Or is there something else going on, like me needing to just throw the CPU out the window because something with it is faulty?

Additional info: My CPU is i5 3570. Idle temperatures are 46C. Watching any type of video brings it to around 53-55C. Playing LoL instantly puts it at about 65C, then slowly climbs up to about 76C+ over the span of 30 minutes in game and eventually the computer freezes (I imagine CPU defense mechanism to prevent hardware damage) and I have to manually shut it down by holding the power button. I checked CPU load while performing all of the above activities and it never spikes beyond 10%.

Also, GPU temperatures are normal, and airflow inside the computer is fine (also checked without PC case)

If this is relevant: Windows 7, nvidia GTX660. Drivers up to date (motherboard and graphics card), computer is virus free.