Question Crashes and Green Block Artifacts EVGA 2080

Feb 23, 2020
Bear with me, this will be a long one.

Specs: i7 6700k, EVGA RTX 2080, 32GB GSkill 3200mhz, GigaByte Z170X Gaming 7, RM750x

So about a week ago, I was playing World In Conflict and all of sudden my computer just shuts off. Turns out my 980ti just died out of the blue. I pulled it out of my system and it was hot as a nuclear fusion reactor. I let it cool and tried it again but the system wouldn't even power on. That sucks but hey, time for an upgrade I guess, right? I was also worried that maybe it was an issue with my mobo or PSU so I bought new ones. (I replaced the mobo, but the PSU hasn't arrived yet so I used my old one).

I found a great deal on an EVGA RTX 2080 on ebay (yeah, probably bad idea) and went ahead and bought it. It arrived yesterday. I plugged it in, installed new drivers, ran some benchmarks. Everything looks great! Got great scores and thermals were much lower than I expected. So I started playing some games (more World in Conflict and Resident Evil 2 Remake) and it was all great. No problems so far.

I go get some food and come back to start up Metro Exodus and about 30 minutes in, I get a BSOD and hard crash. I don't remember the exact error but it was referencing Nvlddmkm.sys with one of the error codes. I tried the Witcher 3 and it worked for about 3 minutes before another Blue Screen Crash.

I haven't even seen a BSOD in like 10 years. It's never happened with my main system that is 4 and 1/2 years old now. I also have two other self built systems and never had crashes on them either. Now whenever I try to start up my machine with the 2080, it always boots to Windows but 1: I get crazy weird artifacting with green blocks all over the screen like 90% of the time and 2: after a crash the card doesn't seem to respond to the drivers. It's as if they're not there.