Question Crashing at native resolution(1440p)

Bamz68

Prominent
Aug 15, 2019
Hi, This is my first time posting here, so I have no idea if my post should even be here in this section. I have been having this problem that when using my native resolution (2560 x 1440) when playing games, I just crash to desktop with no error. The games work on 1920x1080 and does not crash. I tried searching google but found only the opposite of my problem. I have been playing on 1080p for awhile now. The games that crash on native res are: Black Desert Online, Watch dogs Legion, Star wars Jedi fallen order, Anno 1800, Red dead redemption 2 just to name a few. And sometimes, I need to limit some of the games' fps to 60 or it still crashes. But some games work fine on native res and no fps limit. I have done some troubleshooting to check for any hardware damage but so far, I have not encountered a problem. If anyone has any idea, it would be greatly appreciated.

CPU: i7-9700k
GPU: RTX 2080ti
Motherboard: Z390 AORUS MASTER
Monitor: Samsung C32JG5x native mode: 2560 x 1440(p) (143.998Hz)
RAM: 32GB

When playing at 1440p without FPS cap, is your refresh set to actual 144, or a fractional value near it?

Also, please list full spec, including PSU, and even OS and build version of it.

Also mention any 3rd party software you might be running, especially as a startup or manually running in the background.

Last edited:

Bamz68

Prominent
Aug 15, 2019