Critique my box

dignant

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2003
This is my first real post here at Tom's, so hello!
I've lurked here for years and have finally decided to join in on the forum!

Ok, the skinny, I am a graphic designer and I need a critique from anyone here on the new box i'm building. I've built a couple boxes, but its been a while since i've done it (3.5 yrs to be exact) The programs i use constantly are:
*All Adobe products
*Some Macromedia products
*Sketch-up
*Maya

So print, video, and 3d are my big chunk of work, im not a big gamer however i am looking at the ati9800pro... My whole idea here is to build an all around fairly quiet production box. I really cant afford the high end raid, nor the graphics cards specifically for the acceleration of 3d modeling like the wildcat. I'm not confident about overclocking due to the expense i am going to pay on the P4 but i am interested in the possibilities. So anyway, from my old box i have my hard drives, graphic cards (which i will be updating soon but not yet) dvd and cd burners...so on to the new stuff...

Here is the receipe so far.
--------------------------------------
case: Kingwin K-424 Silver Aluminum Case with Side Panel Window (any other reccomendations??)
power: Antec True 480 Watt
mobo: 865PE Neo2-FIS2R (picked from Tom's review! not sure if i want the 875 though, any other reccomendations??)
cpu: P4 3.2 with the 800fsb
cpu cooler: ???not sure???
ram: Kingston 2gb (2 1GB Kits 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM 3-3-3)
extra fans: ??should i??
accessories: lighting reccomendations???? (inexpesive please)

So please pick it apart, reccomend something completely different, any positive advice would be awesome. Remember, speed is the key here.