Crysis 2 freezes during gameplay

rohitsyte

Honorable
Aug 16, 2012
Hi, I am having issues while playing Crysis 2 on my PC. Occasionally after a long playing time say about 2 hours, the game suddenly freezes and does not respond to any of the keyboard or mouse events. I have to end the program from the task manager. It happens occasionally, but not frequently. I am not able to figure out the problem with it, I would appreciate if anyone can help me..

The following are my system specs:

Mobo: Intel DG31PR
CPU: Intel Dual Core E5300 @ 2.6 GHz (WolfDale)
Socket: LGA 775
PSU: Local Brand 450 W
RAM: Dynet 2 GB DDR2 800 MHz
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7750 1 GB GDDR5
Driver: AMD Catalyst 13.3 Beta2

I am not having any issues with the PSU, GPU or the CPU in any of the other games that I play, but only in Crysis 2. I have been using the GPU for the past 5 months and not issues at all. I have not faced any issues in the following games:

1) Crysis & Crysis Warhead
2) Mafia 2 & All DLC's
3) NFS The Run
4) PES 2012
5) Battlefield 3
6) COD Black Ops (I get a slight stuttering during very intense gun fire, but I guess this is normal)

Update:

The resolution on which I game is 1280x1024

It's very difficult to say what the issue is. It may be a memory issue with you only having 2GB.

The only thing I can recommend is to change your settings:
1) ensure latest patch applied (1.9 I believe)
2) Disable DX11 if running
3) Disable HD textures if running
4) change quality settings to lowest default

I would ensure ALL FOUR of the above are done. If the game remains stable, increase the quality. I don't recommend the HD pack anyway for your PC.

rohitsyte

Honorable
Aug 16, 2012

I have already applied the latst patch and I am running the game under ultra settings with DX11 and HD Textures enabled. I do not experience the freezing frequently, but only after a long gameplay. I have tried lowering the settings, but still the same.. Any more ideas?

A couple points: