Custom build parts

Eddie K

Reputable
Jun 24, 2014
Hi,

This is a gaming custom build by Obnoxious that I plan to use. The overall cost is around 1000$ but I can pay a few hundred more or less if needed. It's not a rigid budget.I especially don't mind paying a bit more on a component if it's much higher in performance score (E.g. let's say CPU in this build is 7000, but I can get one for only 40$ more which results in 12 000) I know that example is over-exaggerated but you get the point. So is there anything I should replace? I'm a novice at this so I'm not exactly sure what to do. The goal though is 60+ FPS on maxed out settings for current high demanding games and for games in the future as well. I went with Intel i5 instead of AMD 8000s series because it would be harder to upgrade the AMD series in the future because of the outdated socket.

Also, is there any bottlenecking in this build? If so, how can I tell?

Thanks,

Eddie

"PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4590 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.88 @ NCIX)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($103.95 @ Vuugo)
Memory: Kingston Fury Black Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($83.78 @ DirectCanada)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.97 @ DirectCanada)
Video Card: HIS Radeon R9 280X 3GB IceQ X² Video Card ($259.99 @ Memory Express)
Case: Corsair 300R ATX Mid Tower Case ($67.99 @ NCIX)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($64.99 @ NCIX)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/BEBE DVD/CD Writer ($17.82 @ DirectCanada)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8.1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($105.84 @ DirectCanada)
Wireless Network Adapter: TP-Link TL-WN781ND 802.11b/g/n PCI Wi-Fi Adapter ($14.99 @ Canada Computers)
Case Fan: Cooler Master R4-C2R-20AC-GP 69.0 CFM 120mm Fan ($6.34 @ DirectCanada)
Total: $995.54
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available