CyberPowerPC Upgrade Help

Apr 13, 2018
Hello, I was wondering if it would be possible to manually upgrade a cyberpowerpc, namely the GUA1200BST. I am new to PCs and am unsure of the difficulty in upgrading a pre-built pc. Basically, I want to upgrade the CPU, the GPU, and the RAM from the defaults in the model to higher levels. Right now I am pondering on a CPU of AMD FX-8000+, some sort of affordable priced NVIDIA GPU, and at least 16GB RAM. My real question is will this be a good affordable upgrade, or are there any recommendations on upgradable parts?

ritvarsdavis

Notable
Sep 11, 2017
I doubt that pc has a good power supply. Before changing to anything beefier, I'd suggest getting a new power supply, which answers your questions - yes, you can easily upgrade. That's the beauty of PC's.

Can you let us know your total budget for the upgrades?

Apr 13, 2018
AMD FX-8000 are represented as 8-core processors. But in fact, the processors have only 4 modules, in other words, they are closer to 4-core than 8.But the AMD FX-8320E processor with its 8 cores will be just the way. And the clock frequency can be raised from the standard 3.2 to 4.5 GHz.

Apr 13, 2018

I’d say that seeing how most things are able to attain over time, I could spend 200-300 per item at most. I know that the cpus and gpus are roughly in that category, but if there are any suggestions I’m all ears. But how would one change the power supply anyways?

ritvarsdavis

Notable
Sep 11, 2017
That's easy. Unplug it from the wall socket, press the PSU switch to "off" and then unplug all the connectors from it. After that get a Philips headscrew to screw it out of the case and that's it.

For the CPU, you can get the above mentioned FX 8320E.

Cryorig H7 CPU cooler to keep it cool. It's a decent, cheap cooler that gets the job done. But if you want to overclock, gonna need a beefier one.