shark669

Distinguished
May 24, 2009
Hi all
First sorry for my lame English, it's not my mother tongue language.
I am a computer technician,
One of my clients gave me brand new HP laptop with hard drive malfunction,
Because the laptop still covered by the warranty, the hard drive was replaced free of charge,
The problem is that my client lost all her pictures (aprox 10 GB).

I checked with local hard drive restoration company, seems like it's going to cost fortune (500$) to restore the drive data (my client cannot afford).

I have the defect hard drive (WD Scorpio blue 2.5" WD1600BEVT ), I plug it in a SATA box and it seems like its motor is not working- the drive won't spin, and the needle ticks.
I had cheaper solution for my client – I can buy new hdd for like 40$, dismantle its electronic board, and hope the board is the problem…
Worst case scenario I can try to open the new & old hdd in clean and safe environment, extract the new magnetic plates from the new hdd and assemble the defective magnetic plates on to the new hdd, than run the new hdd for few minutes to get my data back…
I will glad to hear your opinion on this matter
Sharon

(1) Say it's the circuit board. Replacing it by buying a new one, same model, is a 50/50 chance. There have been a few posts where the individual knew it was the board - seems that idenitical models can have different firmware installed.

(2) On replacing the platter(s) - Do not give that much chance at all. Assembly of HDDs are done in a class 100 cleanroom, not just a clean, safe place. An old trick for HDDs with a problem with spining up was to place them in a freezer for several hours - worked about 10 -> 20% of the time from what I gather.

(3) in either case, if Track 0 is hosed you would have a hard time getting the files back.

rofl_my_waffle

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2010