Decent system? Working on finishing it off.

grimsrazor

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2009
i'm working on upgrading my machine currently.

specs now, are as follows:

Phenom 9950 (oc'd to 2.86)
8g's of DDR2@800Mhz
Asus M3N72-D
MSI N260GTXOC
Windows XP x64
500g Sata II HD

What i'm hoping to do with this machine is:

Phenom 9950 (Same OC, i'm new to OC'ing, figured 10% would be safe)
8g's of DDR2@800Mhz
Ass M3N72-D
RAID 0 of 2x WD 250gb Caviar Blue (16mb cache)
and using my 500g WD Caviar (32mb cache) as a storage drive
MSI N260GTXOC SLI'd with
Asus 260GTXTOP.

I'm going to be doing the raid this weekend, and the SLI sometime next month.

I know the machine's gonna definitely gonna go up in overall performance, gaming moreso than anything.

Just wondering if there's any suggestions / comments about the upgrades i'll be diving into (never done a raid before, never SLI'd anything before...Beginning a learning curve)

Trying to get some more experience under my belt for work (I'm currently working as a bench technician for a local computer shop), and overall hands on experience is something i'm lacking in, so i wanted to try something out on this machine (i've built 4 systems of my own now, and over a dozen for the company).

Hoping to get some feedback concerning the idea of doing a RAID 0 with a pair of 260 Video cards. Any comments or suggestions are welcome :)

darkside_gamer7

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2009
What games are you wanting play on this build exactly??? and what monitor are you using w/ this build? And may i ask...why the XP OS? You no fan of vista 64?

grimsrazor

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2009
right now i'm only playing a few games, WoW, CoD 4. nothing too special.

at the moment i'm using an LG 20" TV as my monitor, max res on it is at 1360x768. 60hz refresh rate.
I'll be replacing it soon through work.

i've never built a raid system, never built an sli system.