Dell 2 in 1 problem. with SSD

Dude1986

Prominent
Jul 21, 2017
I have a Dell inspiron 2 in 1 laptop. I have just installed a ADATA 128GB SSD. When booting up my laptop, I does a memory test and then freezes. im lost on what to do. im not a techie by any means. but I did the upgrade because the computer was very slow at everything. I did upgrade the ram too. should I just change it back to HDD and keep the ram in there or undo the upgrade all together? any help would be greatly appreciated

Solution

Right.
As suspected, there is no place for another drive. It is stuck with that teeny 32GB eMMC space.

There is no option for an additional drive.
Send that Adata back for a refund.

Dude1986

Prominent
Jul 21, 2017

No I did not, how would I go about doing this?

USAFRet

Titan

Generally, you only change one thing at a time.
Take the SSD out, and put the old drive back in.
Does it boot with the new RAM?

USAFRet

Titan

OK...now you have to get the OS on the new SSD.
However...a 128GB SSD is almost certainly 'too small' if it is the only drive in the system.

What drive is in there now, and how full is it?

Dude1986

Prominent
Jul 21, 2017
Well when I click on system and then storage it says "25.9 GB used out of 28.5 GB. If that is what your asking. I bought this with only 32GB it's only a 2 in 1 laptop

USAFRet

Titan

oooo..a 32GB drive.
Is this by any chance an eMMC drive?
Can you link to the actual specs for this laptop?

USAFRet

Titan
And there is a mount for another drive? The old HDD changing to SSD? Interesting.

Unfortunately, I'm not 100% sure you can change the OS from the eMMC drive to the new SSD. And it might not be significantly faster.
An SSD is 'faster' than the eMMC, but maybe not noticeable in real world use.

It is a 'slow' laptop, primarily because of the low powered CPU. Which you cannot change.

Dude1986

Prominent
Jul 21, 2017