Dell OptiPlex 7050 and GeForce GTX 1060 compatibility

garaj.martin

Prominent
Oct 16, 2017
Hi,

I am a researcher, and I need GeForce GTX 1060 in my work Desktop PC. I need to know, whether I can install the GeForce GTX 1060 right away, or there may be some troubles.

Setup Info :
Current configuration :
http://

Similar machine in terms of casing :

Diemnsions of the OptiPlex 7050 Tower casing:
Width 6.1 in
Depth 10.8 in
Height 13.8 in

Power Source :
329-BDHN: OptiPlex 7050 MT 240W containing up to 85% energy efficient power supply (80Plus bronze)

The PCI slots avaliable are shown here :
Vqoaq

Questions :
1) Shall the regular GeForce GTX 1060 fit inside the case ?

2) Do I have the correct PCI slot for GeForce GTX 1060 ?

3) What Power Source to get, so I can safely install the GeForce GTX 1060 ? (are watts the only important thing ? do I need some special connector to power GPU ? )

4) The Dell OptiPlex 7050 comes only with AMD graphic cards (does that imply something ? does nVidia cards differ ?)

Solution
Wow, Id love to see the actual test of Dell "under rating" any component. In my experience with Dell, other than some high-end servers which I service daily, their components are total turds. Excuse my skepticism but, buying capacitors from the lowest bidders and slapping them into proprietary components like an 80+ BRONZE power supply makes me doubt they would ever under rate it. Not to mention the fact that it would break numerous industry standards.

If you have to go through the IT team for approval anyway, I'd get their advice since they have the unfortunate experience of working on these Dell machines every day.

Even if for some reason, Dell, labeled a 300W power supply with a 240W sticker, it's still 80+ Bronze...
"Researching" at work, sure. ;)

1) Smallest GTX 1060 I see on newegg is 10.5" x 4.5". This is unlikely to fit since Dell probably lists the outer dimensions of the case, not the space available on the inside.