Dell precision 7510 vs. XPS 15

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Status
Not open for further replies.

relaxaqueencaxa

Reputable
May 11, 2015
Hello guys.

I am looking for a new laptop. I am an IT engineer which means it wil be mostly used for programming or running virtual machines (i use vmware heavily).

I read that precision stations are better for work and designers because of their gpus while XPSs are more premium laptops and for gaming. I am looking for a physically robust laptop not for gaming at all which can handle virtualization well. I am becoming inclined to the 7510. Yet i cannot find opinions/reviews on the laptop, not even on amazon or newegg. I believe this happens because the laptop is very recent and hardly anyone has it. Does anyone have a word of advice?

Kind regards fellow techy friends.

BDockS

Commendable
May 19, 2016

Hi !

thank you sooo much for the quick and clear answer !

the clue was to add a PCIe first and then choose the 2nd HD

and for the seal part of my post, lenovo business laptops are now sealed for processor and memory. I just find out this today so i wanted to be sure ;)

Your tip for the 2nd PCIe slot is really interesting ! I plan to have a 2,5 + a PCIe so I'm not "concerned" but might be usefull

thx again !

soko80

Commendable
Apr 6, 2016
No prob!

Didn't know that about Lenovo, a bummer! I had IBM, then Lenovo and now swapped to Dell cause the IBM/Lenovo business notebooks are getting worse and worse...

V Shekhar Avasthy

Reputable
Jun 17, 2015