DELL XPS 9560 GTX 1050 4GB - Low FPS - Horrible Performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

mufox77

Prominent
Dec 8, 2017
Ok to start off I'm new to this so sorry if I posted this wrong.

I have a new Dell XPS 15 9560 4k 16GB 512SSD with the 1050 4gb card - Windows 10.

Right off the bat I had problems with the graphics card giving very low FPS and performance in benchmarks. To make sure It was not bloatware or a software issue I did a FRESH windows 10 install. Fresh drivers from Dell and updated the geforce drivers etc from Nvidia.com.

Even after all that I am geting 10FPS in Unigine Superpostion benchmark. I am also getting horrible scores in 3dMark and others.
I was using a USB-C dock for charging the unit BTW. After messing with ALL the settings, from nvidia ones to power settings to old drivers NOTHING worked.
On a whim I unplugged the USB-C dock and BOOM! FPS went up to 25-30 immediately! literally durring a benchmark I did it and it went from 10FPS to 30FPS!
Now this is odd in and of its self but still 30FPS isnt right... It should be more like 40 or 50.

The odd thing is the FPS almost seems to be stuck at 30 and wont go above although it does dip down to 23 at times. I checked Nvidia Experience and the FPS lock was disabled so its not that. Dell support also messed with nvidia settings (lowering qualify etc) but still nothing. I made sure Windows 10 is on Performance with no "battery saving features" enabled (as far as I can tell).

Like I said before I updated ALL drivers, uninstalled, reinstalled over and over and still cant get above 30fps.

The Dock issue is a whole other animal and I'm not going to worry about that right now but if anyone has an answe to that great!

BTW, my benchmarks for CPU are AWESOME elthough I had an issue with CPU origonally which was resolved by unplugging the battery. The CPU was stuck at like 400mhz but now is full throttle no issues there.