Desperately in need of help reformatting and reinstalling OS on my friend's PC.

azterix_

Commendable
Sep 1, 2016
Basically my friend has had her PC for about 4yrs(Sony Vaio) and it's loaded with malware and god knows what, so she wanted me to do a clean reformat and upgrade from win 7 to 10. I have a day at her house, what disk drive utility do you recommend to clone the 2 500GB HDDS on her computer to my external 2TB WD drive so i can re add her files and stuff to the computer post-reinstall(and incase of screwup.) I got windows burned to my USB and just need to clone the two internal 500GB HDDs.

Also: what do you recommend I do for reformatting the computer post-backup so I can reinstall windows. (what software/procedure) Since this is my first time doing this, any advice on the matter is also welcome(how to backup drivers etc. etc.)

THANKS ALOT!

Solution
OK, you can't do both (all 3, actually)
Install a new OS, and clone 2 x 500GB drives into a 1TB drive, and then somehow merge everything. And in the middle of this, upgrade to Win 10.

Doesn't work like that.

So, to proceed:
From the original VAIO system, this is what you need to save to your external drive
Any and all personal files.
All username/password combinations. Save these in a word doc or txt file
All serial numbers/licenses for any applications
All the relevant drivers for that Sony
All application install files for whatever she uses.

Now...the added complexity here is going from Win 7 to 10.
You do realize this involves buying Win 10, right? The free upgrade period ran out in July.

So, purchase Win 10
Install it.
Drivers...