Dev / Video / Photo Editing

dipetersen

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2011
I'm out of my element in picking hardware. I can put it all together, I just don't know what pieces to purchase. I'm a programmer (Visual Studio, Photoshop, MSOffice suite) but video and photo editing are a hobby (I have a . I don't play any games. My last PC is over 5 years old and I'm starting to see where the software requirements are more than my current (max 2GB RAM) system can handle.

I've been looking at the different builds on the site but it looks as though most of them are geared toward gaming. Anybody see any problems with taking the Q4 performance build and bumping the RAM to 16G and removing one graphics card?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/build-computer-how-to-overclock-gaming,3363.html

Here are my concerns:

Even if I take away one of the graphics cards, is the MSI card still overkill for what I want to do with it? I used to use a Matrox RTX.100 card for video capture and processing. That worked great until HiDef video came out. So - are there other graphic cards that work best with Premier or Sony Vegas?

Also - I like working with at least 2 hi res monitors. I am thinking about buying 2-24" monitors. Any recommendations on these are appreciated.

Cerunnos

Honorable
Sep 25, 2012
You'll need an Nvidia card for Premiere Pro's GPU acceleration. You also might not need such a high end graphics card as you won't be gaming. Therefore, you can look at an entry level Quadro/mid-range Geforce card.
You'll also need a dedicated capturing card as these card do not support video in. I have never used one so I don't have experience.
I'll also change out the Seagates for 2x 2TB WD Reds in RAID1 for security.

djosbun

Honorable
Dec 18, 2012