Question Did I ruin my whole computer?

uno99

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2012
I wanted to upgrade my graphics card to a 6900xt, but first had to replace the PSU. Went from Seasonic 650w to a EVGA 1200w. Being a bit lazy I decided to use the SATA cables from the old PSU, I put everything back together including the new GPU and when I turned it on I smelled burning and was presented with a No boot at startup.

I realized my two SATA drives were burned up but my M.2 and 2 HDDs seemed OK. The m.2 was corrupted or something so I reinstalled windows on it and everything seemed OK until I started playing Cyberpunk. The game crashes very often, although sometimes I can get an hour before a crash. Often every few minutes it crashes.

Suspicious, I tried running Prime95 and I am getting crashes in that too. If I stop a test fast enough I can generate a report:
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 2.020321878e+10, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected running 960K FFT size, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4

What's everyone opinion here? Is everything ruined or could I maybe try replacing a few of the components?

Currently running is Asus B550, 16GB dual channel, AMD 5600x, 1 tb M.2, 6900xt, EVGA 1200w P3, 2 HDDs, although the oldest one which is about 4 years seems to be dying, has bad sectors.

COLGeek

Cybernaut
As you have found out, cables are not universal between makes/models and you may have permanently damaged your system.

I would assume that everything connected to the SATA power cables has been damaged and that includes the motherboard and things attached to it.

Might be time for a new, new system. You are not the first to learn this lesson, nor likely to be the last.

punkncat

Champion
Ambassador
It isn't clear to me, are you using the drives that were hooked to the incorrect cables, again on the proper cables? Or did you replace those?