Question Did the shop break my PC?

userintransit2

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2011
I'm no expert at all, but I've always looked after my own PC's ...never brokern anything and never had a computer fall over on me other than a major hardware failure. As much of an idiot as I am, I try to do my reading and then tackle problems myself and invariably solve them.

But, I'm teaching myself to video edit on an old machine ( Gigabyte 970a Ds3p , AMD FX 8350 4ghz and an 8gb Radeon RX 480 ) It's been fine though, and editing my 1080 footage has gone ok on Da Vinci Resolve and generally this PC has been the best and most stable I've ever had, never crashing, never freezing. BUT ..the fan was driving me crazy .. pumping like hell up and down. Mucked around with Speedfan but couldn't get it to 'follow the curve' . .. I'd also bought a USB3 bus off my local computer shop a while ago but had never managed to get the drivers to stick and it ran at USB2 speeds so I though ...'I'll take it to the shop'

I booked in for a water cooler to solve the fan noise problem and get them to sort the USB thing cos I'd given up.

Turned up ….they'd got in a cooler that didn't fit my case..so that was that....I though since I'm here I'll get them to do the one thing I've always been warned against doing myself ...updating the BIOS ( The BIOS was original F1)
Next thing ..I've got them on the phone saying my SSD has broked and blah blah...( SSD is WD and 6months old!) they had it all afternoon and said it had fallen over after doing the BIOS flash. and I'd need a new SSD!!!

It bothered me that it was ME (!) that has to suggest running WD diagnostics on it ...he called me back an hour later and said the result was a pass!!

Anyway....I got it back...now with no OS on it!!! thinking that I'd rather take this on myself since I no longer trusted them