Question Do antivirus apps that don't push VPNs exist anymore?

Aug 12, 2019
Hi,

I've been using paid versions of BitDefender for about 4 years now on my macOS and Windows 10 computers. Within the last 12-18 months, the software is force-installing VPN software. You may not have to use it, but if you uninstall it, you can be darn sure it will reappear very shortly. I want the software to allow for five devices, including macOS and Windows, which at least isn't too difficult.

I have also been using Private Internet Access (VPN service) for about 5 years now, and I have ZERO desire to change services.

I started looking into the BitDefender issue. Online, I found that you simply can't purchase a standard antivirus application by itself - or so it appears - from ANYONE. (Side note - if you can unclick a checkbox during installation so that you are never prompted about the VPN again, that is fine.) Whether you activate the VPN or not is immaterial. I don't want paid software on my computer that refuses to allow itself to stay uninstalled, ever.

BitDefender support offered no solution, and essentially said that I was out of luck with their software.

This almost reminds me of the days when my ISP started trying to give me Cable Modems with built-in WiFi. I started using cable when I was just out of middle school in '99, and WiFi in '03 - and I've absolutely never thought that the two devices should be combined into one.

Back to the point - I absolutely cannot be the only person wondering this...but it sure seems like it from searching the web. Any options for a 5-user macOS/Windows 10 compatible package without VPN or with VPN that is easy to (fully) disable?

Thanks everyone!

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
Welcome to the forums my friend!

You may not have to use it, but if you uninstall it, you can be darn sure it will reappear very shortly.