[SOLVED] Do I have to update my bios before upgrading my cpu from Ryzen 5 to Ryzen 7 3700X?

May 16, 2020
I recently bought a Ryzen 7 3700x cpu to upgrade my cpu. I am new to upgrading a gaming pc by myself and I was not aware that I was supposed to update bios before updating your cpu. Without knowing about updating Bios first, I already installed my new Ryzen 7 from Ryzen 5. It was fine, it started like normal. I had it only run for about 5 hours. Would I need to still update my bios according to my motherboard or is It okay as is? If I do have to update Bios, is there a way to update it without installing back my stock processor (Ryzen 5) or would I have to put it back and install the bios? Also, would I have to install bios in order or just go ahead with the current Bios? Thank you and appreciate the help, hope I hear back soon:)

Some info:
Bios Version/Date: American Megatrends Inc. P1.50, 10/14/2019
SMBios Version: 3.2
Bios Mode: UEFI
Baseboard Manufacturer: MSI
Baseboard Product: B450M Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Stock/old Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Ram: 16 GB

Last edited:
Solution
I heard that I can update my Bios without the old cpu by using a usb flash drive? Like download the appropriate bios update for my mobo, then restart pc while usb is plugged in and update through bios. Would it damage my mobo or cpu if I don’t update it in the long run? Also, would I lose any info or files if I don’t update the bios? I wish someone wouldve told me about this hehe smh
Both your original and new processors are Zen2 arch. so if it works with one it will work with the other. You can update BIOS with either of your processors, there's no reason to go back to the older one. And while your board does have a 'BIOS Flashback' feature you're best approach to update BIOS is to do it through the BIOS utility...

Mickieg1994

Reputable
Jul 15, 2019