Do I need a router to use local network?

HeroponLuigi

Honorable
Nov 4, 2013
I am completely new to all of these terms. I want to try to stream my steam games to my TV. My pc is huge and it's under the desk so moving it is a no go. Then I ran across a streaming feature which says I can stream through a local network. I believe ethernet cables are the ones that I have connected from my internet router to my gaming pc. So do I just disconnect it from the back of the router and connect that end to the other pc? Will they be able to communicate?

Solution
No you do not. A router is a device that sends data from one network to a different network. If you want to transfer data within a single network, you absolutely do not need a router.

You may need to be connected to steam (I have no idea how that application works or what it requires) and if that is the case then you will need a router (since you will be going from your LAN/local area network to steams network; a separate network).

Are you talking about using your TV as a monitor and playing the games on your TV (like with a keyboard and mouse)?

millwright

Distinguished
If it is a router, and it has an uplink port, and 4 other ports then it is a router switch combo.

You just plug the other computer into one of the free ports.

If it is a modem/router with just an in and an out, then you need to buy a switch.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100010066%208000&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&ActiveSearchResult=True&page=1

If it is just a modem, then you need a router/switch combo.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100010065%208000&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&ActiveSearchResult=True&page=1

Or the wireless version, which is wire also.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100010076%208000&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&ActiveSearchResult=True&page=1

Most Routers, except DSL are router/switch combos.

rcfant89

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011